Utah Marriage Commission Members


Paul Schvanevedlt, Ph.D. (UMC Chair)

Presidential Distinguished Professor, Child and Family Studies, Weber State University

Jacalyn Leavitt (Honorary UMC Chair)

Chair, Internet Keep Safe Coalition


Stephen F. Duncan, Ph.D., CFLE (Vice Chair)

 Professor in the School of Family Life, Brigham Young University 


Gerald White

Utah National Guard Chaplain


Veola Burchett

Director for Marriage and Family Life, Catholic Diocese of Salt Lake City


Senator Allen Christensen

Utah State Senate


Doug LeCheminant, LCSW

LDS Family Services

Julie Nelson

Assistant Professor of Family Science, Utah Valley University

Shawn Christiansen, Ph.D.

Dean of College of Education and Human Development, Southern Utah University


David Schramm, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Family Life Extension Specialist, Utah State University


Senator Lyle Hillyard

Utah State Senate

Senator Todd Wieler

Utah State Senate


Mark O. Jarvis, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Family and Human Studies, Salt Lake Community College

Lola Shipp

Family and Consumer Sciences Specialist, Utah State Board of Education


Representative Carol Spackman Moss
Utah House of Representatives

Representative Melissa G. Ballard

Utah House of Representatives 

Nate Bagley

Relationship Researcher, Writer, Podcaster, & Speaker

Camilla Rees

Utah Marriage Commission Coordinator