Utah Marriage Education Discount (MED) FAQ

What is MED?

Participating vendors

I’m engaged. How do I get the Utah MED?

  • Complete the required premarital education or counseling
    (Premarital education or counseling must be completed not more than one year before but at least 14 days before the day the marriage license is issued)
  • Ask your educator or counselor to provide you with the signed certificate that verifies completion of premarital education or counseling
  • Complete an ONLINE marriage license application and upload your completed and signed certification form
    • Currently, no counties in the state offer an online application for a marriage license. It is anticipated that Utah County will offer an online marriage license option in late 2018 or early 2019. You do not have to reside in a county to acquire a marriage license in the State of Utah. Marriage licenses issued from any county are valid throughout the state
  • Get your $20 discount!

Where can I find available marriage education classes that meet the MED requirements?

  • Check the calendar on StrongerMarriage.org for a class being offered near you
  • Ask your local religious leader if they offer a premarital or marriage education course
  • Check our list of approved marriage education providers HERE
  • Certain university courses also qualify for MED. Click HERE for our list of approved college courses across the state. 
  • You can also qualify by completing ePREP, an online premarital education course approved by the Utah Marriage Commission. Engaged Utah couples can receive a code to take this online course for FREE by emailing utahprep@utah.gov

Who can provide approved marriage education or counseling to couples?

Providers of approved marriage education include:

  • Certified Family Life Educators
  • Licensed Family and Consumer Sciences Educators
  • Instructors approved by a qualifying premarital education curriculum
  • Click HERE for our list of MED approved education providers

Providers of approved premarital counseling include:

  • A licensed mental health professional as identified by law and the Utah Division of Professional Licensing
  • A licensed or ordained minister or the minister's designee who is trained by the minister or denomination to conduct premarital counseling or education

What are the marriage education and premarital counseling requirements?

Marriage Education Requirements

  • Couples must complete at least 6 hours of approved premarital education
  • Curriculum must include information on important factors associated with strong and healthy marriages, including: 
    • Commitment in marriage
    • Effective communication
    • Problem-solving skills
    • Avoiding violence and abuse in the relationship

Premarital Counseling Requirements

  • Couples must complete at least 3 hours of approved premarital counseling
  • Counseling must include information on important factors associated with strong and healthy marriages, including: 
    • Commitment in marriage
    • Effective communication
    • Problem-solving skills
    • Avoiding violence and abuse in the relationship
  • Counseling may be completed in a group, individual, or couple setting


I’m a provider of marriage education. How do I find out if my curriculum is approved?

  • Check our list of approved marriage education curriculum HERE  
  • If your curriculum is not on the list, send an email with your curriculum to marriagecommission@utah.gov